THE OWNER DOES NOT EXTEND ANY OF ITS MOTOR VEHICLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY OR PROVIDE PUBLIC LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERAGE TO THE RENTER, AUTHORIZED DRIVERS OR ANY OTHER DRIVER.
NOTICE ABOUT YOUR FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY AND OPTIONAL DAMAGE WAIVER
You are responsible for all collision damage to the rented vehicle even if someone else caused it or the cause is unknown. You are responsible for the cost of repair up to the value of the vehicle, and towing, storage, and impound fees.
Your own insurance, or the issuer of the credit card you use to pay for the car rental transaction, may cover all or part of your financial responsibility for the rented vehicle. You should check with your insurance company, or credit card issuer, to find out about your coverage and the amount of the deductible, if any, for which you may be liable.
Further, if you use a credit card that provides coverage for your potential liability, you should check with the issuer to determine if you must first exhaust the coverage limits of your own insurance before the credit card coverage applies.
The rental company will not hold you responsible if you buy a damage waiver. But a damage waiver will not protect you if you use or operate or permit the vehicle to be used or operated:
The cost of an optional damage waiver is $28 for every day.
CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEM
California law requires all children under 8 years of age who weigh less than 80 pounds to be transported in the back seat of the vehicle in a child restraint system. Silvercar is required to provide for rental a child restraint system if you do not have a child restraint system yourself.
NOTICE: THIS CONTRACT OFFERS, FOR AN ADDITIONAL CHARGE, A COLLISION DAMAGE WAIVER TO COVER YOUR RESPONSIBILITY FOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. YOU ARE ADVISED NOT TO SIGN THIS WAIVER IF YOU HAVE RENTAL VEHICLE COLLISION COVERAGE PROVIDED BY CERTAIN GOLD OR PLATINUM CREDIT CARDS OR COLLISION INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN VEHICLE. BEFORE DECIDING WHETHER TO PURCHASE THE COLLISION DAMAGE WAIVER, YOU MAY WISH TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR OWN VEHICLE INSURANCE AFFORDS YOU COVERAGE FOR DAMAGE TO THE RENTAL VEHICLE AND THE AMOUNT OF THE DEDUCTIBLE UNDER YOUR OWN INSURANCE COVERAGE. THE PURCHASE OF THIS COLLISION DAMAGE WAIVER IS NOT MANDATORY AND MAY BE WAIVED.
Silvercar may not void a loss damage waiver unless the loss of or damage to the vehicle is caused by:
The valid and collectible liability insurance and personal injury protection insurance of any authorized rental or leasing driver is primary for the limits of liability and personal injury protection coverage required by ss. 324.021(7) and 627.736, Florida Statutes. Failure to return rental property or equipment upon expiration of the rental period and failure to pay all amounts due (including costs for damage to the property or equipment) are evidence of abandonment or refusal to redeliver the property, punishable in accordance with section 812.155, Florida Statutes.
NOTICE: This contract offers, for an additional charge, a collision damage waiver to cover your financial responsibility for damage to the rental vehicle. The purchase of a collision damage waiver is optional and may be declined. You are advised to carefully consider whether to sign this waiver if you have rental vehicle collision coverage provided by your credit card or collision insurance on your own vehicle. Before deciding whether to purchase the collision damage waiver, you may wish to determine whether your own vehicle insurance affords you coverage for damage to the rental vehicle and the amount of deductible under your own insurance coverage.
FOR RENTALS ORIGINATING IN ILLINOIS - Subject to the limitations set forth in Section 6- 305.2 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, which limits the renter’s liability for loss, damage, or theft of the vehicle to the actual and reasonable costs to the owner for the repair of the vehicle, or the fair market value of the vehicle, whichever is less, renter accepts responsibility for damage to, loss or theft of, vehicle or any part or accessory, including and without limitation tires and tools, regardless of fault or negligence of renter or any other person or act of God. Under Section 6- 305.2 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, the maximum amount the owner may recover for loss or damage of the vehicle is $18,000 as of June 1, 2015, subject to an annual increase of $500 on June 1 of each year thereafter. Renter shall pay owner the amount necessary to repair the damaged vehicle, subject to the aforementioned limitations. If the owner determines the vehicle is salvage, renter shall pay owner the fair market value less any sale proceeds, subject to the aforementioned limitations in Section 6-305.2. For purposes of this RA, fair market value shall be the retail value of the vehicle immediately preceding the loss. Liability for theft of the vehicle is limited to $2,000 except if the renter or authorized driver fails to exercise reasonable care while in possession of the vehicle or the renter or authorized driver commits, aids or abets the theft of the vehicle, the renter is responsible for the actual and reasonable cost of the vehicle, up to its fair market value, subject to the aforementioned limitations in Section 6-305.2.
NOTICE: Under Illinois law, you may request, based on available information, an estimated total daily rental rate, including taxes, fees, and other charges, or an estimated total rental charge, based on the vehicle return date noted on this RA.
Authorized driver, as defined in the RA, also includes any validly licensed driver, if at least 18 years of age (including renter’s spouse), and any such driver who operates the vehicle during an emergency situation to a medical facility. However, additional daily surcharges may apply, at the discretion of Silvercar, for any authorized driver between the ages of 18 and 22.
NOTICE: This contract offers, for an additional charge, optional vehicle protection to cover your financial responsibility for damage or loss to the rental vehicle. The purchase of optional vehicle protection is optional and may be declined. You are advised to carefully consider whether to purchase this protection if you have rental vehicle collision coverage provided by your credit card or automobile insurance policy. Before deciding whether to purchase optional vehicle protection, you may wish to determine whether your credit card or your vehicle insurance affords you coverage for damage to the rental vehicle and the amount of deductible under such coverage.
You may void your optional vehicle protection within 24 hours of purchase if (i) you are renting for two or more days, (ii) you appear at a Silvercar facility in person, (iii) the vehicle has no damage following an inspection, and (iv) you sign a cancellation form provided by Silvercar.
You must provide notice to law enforcement within 12 hours of learning of the theft of the vehicle.
You must use a child safety seat for all children under the age of 8. Seats will be provided to you upon request and may result in an additional charge.
The maximum amount charged for each additional authorized driver shall not exceed $3.00 per day.
NOTICE: New York State Law prohibits the following practices by rental vehicle companies based upon race, color, ethnic origin, religion, disability, sex, marital status, or age: (1) refusal to rent; and, (2) the imposition of any additional charge (except in certain instances where the renter is under the age of 25). In addition, it is unlawful under New York State Law for any rental vehicle company to refuse to rent a vehicle to any person solely based on a requirement of ownership of a credit card.
Nevada law requires any driver and any passenger 5 years of age or older who rides in the front or back seat to wear a safety belt if one is available for that seating position.
Renter accepts responsibility for damage to, loss or theft of, vehicle, optional accessories or any part or accessory regardless of fault or negligence of Renter or any other person or act of God to the maximum extent permitted by Nevada law. Renter shall not have vehicle or optional accessories repaired without permission from Silvercar. Renter shall pay Silvercar the amount necessary to repair vehicle or optional accessories. However, if vehicle is stolen and not recovered or Silvercar determines the vehicle is salvage, Renter shall pay Silvercar the fair market value less any sale proceeds. For purposes of this Agreement, fair market value shall be the retail value of vehicle immediately preceding the loss. If optional accessories are not returned, Renter shall pay Silvercar the replacement cost of the optional accessories.
Renter acknowledges that:
If vehicle is returned during non-business hours or to any place other than the renting location set forth in the Rental Agreement, any damage to or loss or theft of the vehicle or optional accessories occurring prior to an employee of Silvercar checking the vehicle is Renter’s responsibility.
LOSS DAMAGE WAIVER IS NOT INSURANCE. THE PURCHASE OF LOSS DAMAGE WAIVER IS OPTIONAL AND NOT REQUIRED IN ORDER TO RENT A VEHICLE.
Renter may purchase Loss Damage Waiver (LDW) from Silvercar for an additional fee. If Renter purchases LDW, Silvercar agrees, subject to the actions that invalidate LDW listed below, to contractually waive Renter’s damage responsibility for all of the cost of damage to, loss or theft of, vehicle or any part or accessory and related costs regardless of fault or negligence. LDW does not apply in Mexico. When deciding whether or not to purchase LDW, you should check with your insurance representative or credit card company to determine whether, in the event of damage to, or theft of, vehicle, you have coverage or protection for such damage or theft and the amount of your deductible or out-of-pocket risk.
THE FOLLOWING INVALIDATE LDW:
Notice to Texas Renters Regarding Damage Waivers
NOTICE: Your rental agreement offers, for an additional charge, an optional waiver to cover all or a part of your responsibility for damage to or loss of the vehicle. Before deciding whether to purchase the waiver, you may wish to determine whether your own automobile insurance or credit card agreement provides you coverage for rental vehicle damage or loss and determine the amount of the deductible under your own insurance coverage. The purchase of the waiver is not mandatory. The waiver is not insurance.
Notice to Texas Residents Regarding Damage Waivers
Your personal automobile insurance policy may or may not provide coverage for your responsibility for the loss of or damage to a rented vehicle during the rental term. Before deciding whether to purchase a damage waiver, you may wish to determine whether your automobile insurance policy provides you coverage for rental vehicle damage or loss. If you file a claim under your personal automobile insurance policy, your insurance company may choose to non-renew your policy at your renewal date, but may do so only if you are at fault for the claim.
Voiding of Loss Damage Waiver
Silvercar may not void a loss damage waiver unless:
NOTICE: THIS AGREEMENT OFFERS, FOR AN ADDITIONAL CHARGE, LOSS DAMAGE WAIVER ("LDW") TO COVER YOUR RESPONSIBILITY FOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. BEFORE YOU DECIDE WHETHER TO PURCHASE COLLISION LDW, YOU MAY WISH TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR OWN VEHICLE INSURANCE AFFORDS YOU COVERAGE FOR DAMAGE TO THE RENTAL VEHICLE AND THE AMOUNT OF THE DEDUCTIBLE UNDER YOUR OWN INSURANCE COVERAGE. THE PURCHASE OF THIS LDW NOT MANDATORY AND MAY BE WAIVED (DECLINED).
Warning - failure to promptly return the vehicle on the date indicated may result in criminal prosecution under RCW 9.45.062.